top of page

Past Honorees:

2019 - Dave New, owner of Basin Marin

2018 - Dennis Durgan, former Harbor Master of Newport Beach

2017 - Seymour Beek, owner of the Balboa Ferry


2016 - Gary Hill, owner of Hill's Boat Service, Commodore of Newport Harbor Yacht Club


2015 - Timothy Hogan, President of the Interscholastic Sailing Association


2014 - Gino Morrelli and Pete Melvin, Morrelli & Melvin Design and Engineering 


2012 - Bill Ficker, World Champion in the Star in '58, America's Cup victor in '70


2011- David Janes, Admiral, US Navy Reserve (ret), Board President of Chapman University


2010 - Marshall Duffield, founder/owner of Duffy Boats, member of Newport Beach City Council


2009 - Dave Ullmanfounder of Ullman sails, Rolex Yachtsman of the Year '96


2008 - Jim Warmington, past president of Warmington Homes


2007 - Duncan McIntosh, owner of Duncan McIntosh Company

Good Sea Scout Award


Since 2007, Newport Sea Base has honored local mariners for their contribution to the boating industry, from innovative yacht and sail designs and improving youth access to boating and sailing, to sportsmanship at the highest level.  Above all, those honored have shown the personal character traits that Scouting embodies and promotes.




(founded by his grandfather Joseph Beek in 1936 after establishing the Balboa Island Ferry in 1919)

QR Code- Good Sea Scout 2022.png
bottom of page